Benelux Meeting

an annual conference that offers PhD students a platform for presentation and discussion of their results in an international setting.

Benelux Meeting

Since 1982 the Dutch and Belgian systems and control community meets yearly for a three day conference in which recent research results are presented, international keynote speakers are invited, and tutorial mini-courses are given by senior researchers. In the course of years this yearly Benelux Meeting on Systems and Control has become an important event where academics and PhD students from The Netherlands and Belgium meet each other both scientifically and socially. Additionally, the Benelux Meetings serve as a training platform for PhD students to present and discuss their work in an -informal- international setting.
During the Benelux Meeting the “Best Junior Presentation Award” is awarded for the best presentation by a PhD student. New since 2009 is the “PhD Thesis Award” for the best Thesis. The winner gets a cheque of €1000,-.

The 38th Benelux Meeting on systems and control will take place from March 19 till  March 21, 2019 at “Center Parcs De Vossemeren”, Lommel, Belgium. Visit the dedicated website for more information:

2015 Best Junior Presentation Award

Winner of the 2015 Best Junior Presentation Award

Best Junior Presentation Award

The Best Junior Presentation Award (BJPA) is an award that since 1996 is granted by DISC and awarded to the Dutch or Belgian PhD student that gives the best presentation during a Benelux Meeting.



Winners of BJPA are:

2018- Paul Padilla Cazar (Eindhoven University of Technology)

2017- Yanick Douven (Eindhoven University of Technology)

2016- Estelle Massart (Université catholique de Louvain)

2015- Hannes Maes (Vrije Universiteit Brussel)

2014 – Mohsin Siraj (TU/e Eindhoven)

2013 – Pieter Van den Kerkhof (KUL Leuven)

2012 – Ewoud Vos (University of Groningen)

2011 – Jef Vanlaer (KUL Leuven)

2010 – John Lataire (Vrije Universiteit Brussel)

2009 – Fréderic Crevecoeur (UCL Loucain-la-Neuve)

2008 – Gert Witvoet (TU/e Eindhoven)

2007 – Goele Pipeleers (KUL Leuven) and Cristobald de Kerchove (UCL Louvain-la-Neuve)

2006 – Nico Deblauwe (VUB Brussels)

PhD Thesis Award

The PhD Thesis Award was established in 2009. It is a yearly award for the best defended thesis of a DISC PhD student. The winner gets this award and a prize of €1000,-.




2017- Sofie Haesaert (TU/e EE)

2016 – Bram Hunnekens (TU/e ME)

2015 – Sadegh Soudjani (TUD-DCSC)

2014 – Marko Seslija (University of Groningen)

2013 – Andrea Simonetto (TUD-DCSC)

2012 – Eric Steur (TU/e-ME)

2011 – Shaik Fiaz (University of Groningen)

2010 – Roel Merry (TU/e-ME)

2009 – Jan-Willem van Wingerden (TUD-DCSC)